It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:48 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours



Forum rules


Please read the stickied topic marked "Please read before posting"~

Please only post here if you need technical help with BattleDawn, or if you have information that can help someone.

Please stay on topic.

No spam.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Stuck on loading? Full guide on clearing C&C ~HERE!~
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:22 am 
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:47 am
Posts: 251
Location: Somerset, Great Britain
Gender: male
Solving the loading problem! How to clear your cache & cookies!
Please read, before stating new topics on the subject. Thanks guys!

IMPORTANT! Due to a recent update, the client requires you to clear your cookies. Don't ask me why, but it does. This guide includes instructions on how to further down the page. Just follow this guide, and the client will work again.

We have had so many people posting new topics here for what to do if the new client won't load. So, I have made this topic to hopefully solve all your problems ;)

Firstly, the most likely reason that it won't load its when the client is updated. This is obviously happening frequently at the moment, seeing as the client has just been launched, and the developers are ironing out the bugs. The problem is where your browser has stored a copy of the client. When the server's copy is updated, your browser may try to bring up it's copy, which is old. The server doesn't like this, as it isn't the right version. So, what generally happens your end is that the client will load fully, but then freeze on the loading bar. This is really simple to solve. Just clearing your browser's cache and cookies should do the job. Here's how:

--What browser do I use?--

Clearing the cache means deleting all the pages that your browser has stored. You have to go about doing this differently in all browsers, because they all work differently. So, let's establish what browser you have:

________________________________________________________________________

Firefox
is our recommended browser for playing Battle Dawn. It will look something like this:

Image

________________________________________________________________________

Internet Explorer 9.0
looks like this:

Image

Note that older versions of IE have different ways of clearing their C&C. Although IE is NOT recomended for Battle Dawn if you are for some reason stuck with it and using an old version please download the latest edition HERE

________________________________________________________________________

Google Chrome
It looks like this:

Image

________________________________________________________________________

Safari
It looks like this:

Image

________________________________________________________________________

Opera

We do not recommend using Opera for Battle Dawn. During loading of the client, you will be spammed by security warnings, to which you must sit through and press OK. There is unfortunately no way to disable this, so steer clear of Opera when playing Battle Dawn. Opera looks like this:

Image

________________________________________________________________________


--Clearing the Cache and Cookies--
So, now you know what your browser is, let's clear it's cache. Find you browser below, and I will show you how:

________________________________________________________________________

Firefox:

Cache and Cookies:
  1. Click the address bar (to unfocus the flash object if your on the Battle Dawn client).
  2. Press this key combination: Ctrl+Shift+Del
  3. Set the "Time Range to Clear" option to "Everything"
  4. Make sure the "Cache" and "Cookies" checkboxs are checked.
  5. You may turn on/off any other checkboxes. If you don't know what they do, turn them off, or you are at risk of loosing your browsing history!
  6. Click "Clear Now"
  7. If your client still doesn't load, please continue to the next section...

________________________________________________________________________


Internet Explorer 9.0:

Cache and Cookies:
  1. Press Alt to make sure the menu bar is showing.
  2. Hit the little cog in the top right-hand corner of the screen
  3. Select Tools > Safety > Delete browsing history.
  4. Make sure to uncheck "Preserve Favorites website data" and check both "Temporary Internet Files" and "Cookies".
  5. You may turn on/off any other checkboxes. If you don't know what they do, turn them off, or you are at risk of loosing your browsing history!
  6. Click "Delete".
  7. If your client still doesn't load, please continue to the next section...

________________________________________________________________________

Safari:

Cache:
  1. Go to Edit > Empty Cache...
  2. Click "Empty".

Cookies:
  1. From the Safari menu, click Preferences.
  2. From the Security dialog box, click Bookmarks.
  3. Click Show Cookies.
  4. From the Cookie dialog box, click the 'Remove all' button.
  5. If your client still doesn't load, please continue to the next section...

________________________________________________________________________

Google Chrome:

Cache and Cookies:
  1. Click the spanner icon Image on the browser toolbar.
  2. Select Tools.
  3. Select Clear browsing data.
  4. In the dialogue that appears, make sure 'Empty the Cache' and 'Delete Cookies and other site plug-in data'
  5. Hit 'Clear browsing data'.
  6. If your client still doesn't load, please continue to the next section...

________________________________________________________________________

Opera:

Cache and Cookies:
  1. Select Tools > Delete Private Data
  2. Click Detailed Options
  3. Make sure 'Delete all cookies and 'Delete entire cache' are checked
  4. Click Delete.

________________________________________________________________________

If none of the above worked, try the next section...

--Upgrading Flash Player--

Another common problem that can lead to being unable to load the client is not having the right Flash Player version. The new client requires Flash Player 10. If you have an older Flash Player version, then the box below should tell you the version number. If it read something like "LNX 10.0.42.34", then you have Flash Player 10, and the inability to load the client is due to another problem.



If you cannot see the flash app above, and all you see is nothing or a white box, then you do not have Flash Player. Please click here to install flash player, and then retry the client:

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

However, if you did see the box, then you have flash player. As I said earlier, if it says "This is sufficient to play Battle Dawn!", then Flash Player isn't causing you the problem. If it says "This is NOT sufficient to play Battle Dawn", you must upgrade your flash player. Either do this by clicking the previous link, or using the auto-upgrader that I have posted below.



Your flash player should now be up-to-date. If the client still does not work, read on...

--Installing another Browser--
By this point, if all else has failed then it is most likely your browser that is causing the problem. First, try a different browser from the ones shown at the beginning of this post. Here are the links top download them:


(I will try to keep the list updated to latest versions)

OK, so you have downloaded and installed a different browser yes? Try to load the new client. If it works, excellent. If you still cannot get the new client to work, then please post a topic in the Help Desk, clearly stating that you have followed this post, with no luck. When posting your help topic, please be as specific as possible. Describe exactly what goes wrong, and tell us the browser you are using and your operating system. After posting your topic, click "Subscribe to topic" at the top of your post, for instant email notification when someone replies.


IMPORTANT: Do NOT post support request in this topic. I will delete them.

Thank you for reading, and I hope I've solved your problem(s).

Good luck, ENJOY THE GAME!

_________________
Antony
Founder of OE

Image


Last edited by Ferr3t on Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:11 am, edited 20 times in total.
re-formated, enjoy the new look :)


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: "New client isn't loading!" - The solutions
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:16 pm 
First Lieutenant
First Lieutenant
 Profile

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 606
Gender: male
Thank you Ant59 for this great post. This should help many people having trouble.




-Gaurav

_________________
Championship Era 2013 Winner (DoCE/VND)
FORMER SENIOR MODERATOR

8+ years of Battledawn


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: "New client isn't loading!" - The solutions
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 10:47 am 
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
User avatar
 YIM  Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 2:19 am
Posts: 285
Gender: male
Oh Yeah! This will help a lot!

- Dj aka Kvarun

_________________
Image

Its Meh!!! Killer of The NooBs!!
So be careful NooBS!!! Here I COME!!! :P


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: "New client isn't loading!" - The solutions
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:55 pm 
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:47 am
Posts: 251
Location: Somerset, Great Britain
Gender: male
This took me about an hour to write, take the screenshots and program the auto-uploader :lol: But I know that it will save us a lot of time answering the repeated question of "Why doesn't it load?" and "The client doesn't load, what's wrong?" etc...

_________________
Antony
Founder of OE

Image


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: "New client isn't loading!" - The solutions
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 3:31 pm 
Captain
Captain
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:51 am
Posts: 661
Gender: male
Quick Note:

We offically recommend Mozilla Firefox as the browser for playing battledawn. Good guide, Ant!

St.Even

_________________
The Lemon-Coloured* forum Demi-God!

The Battle Dawn Staff:
Working with you, to make and maintain
the very best browser based game!

*Lemon-Flavoured, according to Andrew...


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: "New client isn't loading!" - The solutions
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:36 pm 
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:47 am
Posts: 251
Location: Somerset, Great Britain
Gender: male
I was sure I'd put it in there somewhere. Here it is:

Ant59 wrote:
Firefox is our recommended browser for playing Battle Dawn.


;)

Steven wrote:
Good guide, Ant!


Thanks Steven :)

_________________
Antony
Founder of OE

Image


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: "New client isn't loading!" - The solutions
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 8:09 pm 
Captain
Captain
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:51 am
Posts: 661
Gender: male
My bad. I must of skimmed over that.

Firefox is definitely the way to go, even if you don't have loading problems with battledawn.

Apologies!
St.Even

_________________
The Lemon-Coloured* forum Demi-God!

The Battle Dawn Staff:
Working with you, to make and maintain
the very best browser based game!

*Lemon-Flavoured, according to Andrew...


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: "New client isn't loading!" - The solutions
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:01 am 
Captain
Captain
User avatar
 YIM  Profile

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 1035
Location: Your Nightmares
You forgot Google Chrome :p

-Shion

_________________
--------------Retired January 2012--------------------
Image
Personal Rankings [Old Client]
E6A2 #2 M2A1 #9 E3A1 #16 E6A4 #24 E5A3 #24


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: "New client isn't loading!" - The solutions
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:19 pm 
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:47 am
Posts: 251
Location: Somerset, Great Britain
Gender: male
Shion wrote:
You forgot Google Chrome :p

-Shion


I know. I completely forgot about it lol.

However, I did add-in a bit about it at the end.

It shouldn't matter too much, as if you have Google Chrome, you know you have it, and you probably know how to clear it's cache. It's less common than the rest, so I suppose it doesn't matter that much. Also, most Battle Dawn players don't use Chrome, as it generated a HTTP 400 error on the old forum.

_________________
Antony
Founder of OE

Image


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: "New client isn't loading!" - The solutions
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:43 am 
Captain
Captain
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 9:23 pm
Posts: 927
Location: Ontario, Canada
Gender: male
When you get a chance Ant59 can you please edit this to include clearing cookies as well?

Thanks!
-Andrew

_________________
Ex-Image


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
WarLingo Android Mobile Game

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Copyright Tacticsoft Ltd. 2008   
Updated By phpBBservice.nl