It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 10:00 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours



Forum rules


Please read the stickied topic marked "Please read before posting"~

Please only post here if you need technical help with BattleDawn, or if you have information that can help someone.

Please stay on topic.

No spam.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Increasing "server busy" problems
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:38 pm 
First Lieutenant
First Lieutenant
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 1:10 am
Posts: 612
Location: DGAFing
Gender: male
Bump.

_________________
Image
Retired


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Increasing "server busy" problems
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:41 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 10:47 pm
Posts: 2418
Location: U.S.A.
Gender: male
I havent been having these problems personally, in any increased number.

However, maybe I can help you guys better understand why this does happen when it happens.

The most common reason is that every hour on the :50, a server backup runs. This will cause the "server maintenance" note to flash.

After that, the most common cause is an interruption of connectivity. This is not to say that your computer's connection to your modem is not good, nor that your local internet speeds are not good. The server for BD is on the east coast of the USA, and many people have a long way to go to get there.

This can be problematic, especially during peak hours on the East coast of the US (between 3 pm and 7 pm EST -5). If you are getting this error, the first thing you could try doing is running a traceroute and then PM'ing that tracert to an admin. This will help to identify any problems along the line.


Another common cause of this is when players play on both RC, or Kongregate BD and battledawn.com as well. In those cases when you go from one to the other, the most recent one to be accessed will take over the session. So, if you are playing BD on RC testing server, and then go to battledawn.com, your login session on RC will be reset. If you are trying in different tabs, then the RC tab in that scenario would then get a server busy message as soon as you tried to make any action in it.


I will, just for good measure, have this issue looked into by developers just to be sure, but these instances, even though a few of you may be having, overall are quite isolated. In most cases, running a traceroute will reveal high ping times and dropped packets and interrupted connections.

_________________
Battle Dawn Staff
Community Management Specialist
Technical Support
World Administrator
Music Composer

Welcome to the best free multiplayer war strategy game on the web!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Increasing "server busy" problems
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:30 pm 
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:04 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Behind you!
Just to point this out: I usually do various worlds (all in BD.com), but sometimes when I go to a new tab and open up another BD page, it tells me to reset my info again, and the first page goes server busy. And so effectively preventing me from multitabbing for a while. It burns me up, but doesnt last more than a minute or so... Im definitely not far enough from the East coast, and my Internet isnt so slow when I only have 1 PC running. And... emm... I got lost on the traceroute :S

Btw dont have the problem from BD.com - BG, its just BD.com - BD.com, as I havent tried RC or Kong lately xD

_________________
Image
Special thanks to Aister for the siggy!!!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Increasing "server busy" problems
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:51 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 10:47 pm
Posts: 2418
Location: U.S.A.
Gender: male
When you said that you "went to another BD page", can you be a little more specific as to what you are doing when "multi-tabbing"? It might help to isolate exact issues. Thanks! :)

_________________
Battle Dawn Staff
Community Management Specialist
Technical Support
World Administrator
Music Composer

Welcome to the best free multiplayer war strategy game on the web!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Increasing "server busy" problems
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:59 pm 
Head Moderator
Head Moderator
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:22 pm
Posts: 2377
Location: Stalker!
I know my words might be rendered as invalid as I'm saying this from China.. and we all know how amazing China internet is :lol:

But I've been having problems with this too. A lot more than before, I haven't been anywhere but .com recently. I've been having a lot more Server Maintenance messages than before (even at school). I can almost never refresh a client without being logged out. I'm also having problems getting into a specific world, all the others load except for that... (when BD is working, ofc).

_________________
没有恩怨,只有胜负。胜者生,负者死。

Image


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Increasing "server busy" problems
PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:34 am 
Private
Private
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:54 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Frankton, IN
Gender: male
Yeah, I've been having the same problem. I try to load the game at my house and it just goes black and says "Server Busy". Battle Galaxy works fine just not the regular Battle Dawn. :?
I do it at my high school and it works fine but at home it doesn't work. I really wish it would get fixed. :cry:


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
WarLingo Android Mobile Game

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Copyright Tacticsoft Ltd. 2008   
Updated By phpBBservice.nl